Hey readers,

It has been a while since my last post, however it hasn’t gone without plenty of learning new things and teaching a range of different classes. The basis behind this post is around being Innovative, especially not being afraid of trying something new.

After attending the Teach Tech Play Conference in April this year, I was encouraged to follow through on some of my discussions and not only present at the conference (something that I was completely out of my comfort zone) but also to start creating flipped video’s that would provide another resource for my students to retain the knowledge covered throughout my classes, as well as incorporate online feedback tools to make learning fun.

During that conference listening to keynote speakers Ewan McIntosh from NoTosh, and Matt Miller from Ditch That Textbook, both of whom encouraged educators to be innovative, creative and to try something new . Following their lead, I worked over the term holidays in coming up with new ideas to share with my students in class, as well as finding different ways in which to encourage them to also want to try something new. Something that was discussed was that as educators we should embrace the use of technology that allows our students to have more of a hands-on approach to their overall learning.

The following images represent ways in which I am aiming my classes to become where learning is something that is built on through constantly wanting to push the boundaries.

C8hzOCdUwAAI1h_fail-first-attempt-in-learning-2

In the last couple of months, I have been working on learning how to flip my classes initially focussing on specific topics and asking for feedback in ways in which I can improve these before moving onto completing the whole semester of classes. In class, I have tried to experiment with a range of online feedback tools that make learning both fun and competitive. I have found using a combination of Kahoot and Quizizz, to be beneficial by allowing students a better opportunity to gradually build their knowledge through each topic covered.

In the upcoming winter school holidays, I am planning on reading books that will provide my with new ideas to try in the classroom that I hope to enhance the experience of my students and to not be afraid of trying something new .

Till next time

Rossman

