Hey readers,

To better understand my new role, I have been completing many courses in the Microsoft Educator Community focusing on ways in which to implement new technology into our curriculum. Recently I completed a short course on bringing other classes from around the world as well as having external excursions / field trips from the comfort of our own classroom using Skype as the driving tool.

Skype in the classroom takes students on the ultimate field trip

While I have used Skype personally to contact family before, I have never had the opportunity to use it as an effective educational tool. After completing the course and watching the video above, I can see so many ways in which any class can use it to its full potential. One of the things I would like to do with my classes next year is to organise a mystery skype with another class.

Using this technology in conjunction with my school’s class set of Virtual Reality I think would be a cool way to help students learn about different areas around the world.

Has anybody else used Skype in the Classroom?

Till next time

Rossman

