Hey readers,

TTPlay Image 1

After a jam packed Day 1, I arrived all ready for another day full of learning and networking with other educators aiming to build upon the knowledge already gained from the previous day.

The first keynote for the day was Mark Anderson. Whether it was discussing giving students the power to lead their own learning or providing opportunities for them to be motivated to want to try new things, the keynote provided many ideas that I am aiming to implement in my classroom over the next few weeks. The major points I took from Mark’s keynote was “Keep IT simple, Keep IT real, Keep IT count” and “Education is something to be passionate about”. If you don’t currently follow Mark, I highly suggest you do.

IT - Mark Anderson

One of my main aims of attending the Teach Tech Play Conference was to see as many of the worldwide educators that I follow on Twitter that I could. Following the keynote I was able to fulfil this ambition by sitting on workshops from Michael Ha, Brett Salakas and Eleni Kyritsis.

Michael’s workshop on Project Based Learning was something that I was looking forward to, because at my school I have been asked to help develop a 6 week program around STEAM Education. “Challenge based learning encourages students to try different things that they may not usually do or feel comfortable to do – Michael Ha”. Building on from this great quote from Michael, I am aiming to provide my students this opportunity to try things that they want to learn about.

I have been following Brett for about a year now with his weekly Twitter chat #aussieED. Brett’s workshop revolved around App Smashing – A Pedagogical Approach. During this session the other educators and I were introduced a great app called “Quiver”. This allows students to colour in worksheets and then be able to transform them into 3D objects. During this session we discussed a quote from Eric Sheninger “Pedagogy first and technology second – where appropriate. Such a powerful reminder that as educators we need to make our students the main focus of our teaching then use technology second where appropriate.

TTPlay Image 5

With a growing appreciation of how Google Docs can help improve my teaching being able to attend Eleni’s workshop on how to Create, Collaborate and share ideas through Google Docs, only provided me with so many more ideas to want to try in the classroom.

At the end of the conference we saw the excellent work done by the students from Ivanhoe Grammar through a short reflection piece.

TTPlay Image 4.jpg

Overall I had such an amazing experience by attending this conference and can’t wait to next year’s #TTPlay, where I hope to be able to present my own workshop. My thanks to Eleni, Corey, Michael, Mark, Alice, Brett and the other presenters for their support for all educators.

Till next time

Rossman

