Hey readers,

TTP ImageTTPlay Image

Today I attended the first day of the Teach Tech Play conference – “designed by teachers for teachers”. Even though I have been following Teach Tech Play for 6 months or more through their monthly episode on YouTube, this was the first time attending a conference (coincidentally the first conference run by TTP) that I was able to put theory learnt into practice.

The day starting off with an amazing keynote from Alice Keeler – author of 50 Things you can do with Google Classroom. She covered many different ideas based around how educators can use technology to interact with others around the world and as educators we should teach our students to use tech tools academically such as efficiently search for information.

Following Alice, I attended a workshop on “Creative iPad tools for creative kids” by Mark Anderson – @ICTEvangelist. So many different apps that I have at my disposal to use not only with my students at school, but also with my own children at home. My favourite of the day would have to be – Photofunia. Highly recommend anyone not following Mark, visit his website or on twitter @ICTEvangelist.

Photofunia1

As educators we need to be able to provide opportunities for our students to grow and learn new things everyday. As was discussed during the conference today making small steps leads to a big journey.

Word Crimes – how has technology changed our students lives

Another day tomorrow, where I will add futher to this post.

Till next time

Rossman

