Hey readers,

Recently I completed a short course on Digital Literacy which discussed how students all around the world are using technology all the time, whether it be at school or at home. During this course the term for young people who grow up with this technology were called Digital Natives .

As these younger people some as young as 3 years of age are using the Internet, their Iphones or even basic computers, the need for educators to teach the correct way to use and therefore harness their engagement is becoming more paramount each and every day.

Cyberbullying

Whilst this use can be potentially dangerous when it comes to cyberbullying, students and teachers a like should be encouraged to use this powerful tool to learn many new ways to engage in their education.

In developing my teaching over the last couple of years I have aimed to introduce coding at every level. This could be introducing a basic yet fun topic around using BeeBots or Spheros to my Year 4 students, Scratch to my Year 7 and 8 students and even introducing HTML and CSS coding to my VCE students.

Beebots

Beetbots

As educators we are always encouraging our students to experiment and learn the new technology that is available to them, being able to use this which includes coding effectively is the most important. That is why in my classes I give my students the opportunity to try new and different ways in their coding which does result in errors, however rather than be disappointed I encourage them to keep working through each activity. I have found that giving the students this autonomy in their work builds improve engagement in each topic.

Till next time

Rossman

References

Let’s Teach Kids to Code – Mitch Resnick

10 places where anyone can learn to code

10-places-where-anyone-can-learn-to-code

