Hey readers,

During a twitter chat this evening, all participants were asked “Why do we teach”?  I had to ponder that question for a while before I actually came up with a definitive answer.  

Firstly, I like to learn first and foremost as I believe that the profession of teaching is one that you cant stop learning from.  The best learning comes when one teaches what they learned.  As a teacher that has a range of students from the age of 8 all the up to age 18, one of the main reasons that I teach is to see the reaction of their faces when they discover that they really can do something and now have the strategies to do it.

F_A_I_L

Following on from this point, I enjoy the fact that as teachers we are able to make a difference with how students embrace learning.  The biggest challenge that I have found in my nearly five years of teaching is building and challenging students to believe that they can achieve anything they want to.  I came across this image during the same twitter chat that started this conversation, where I encourage students to experience failure, not as a negative but as a positive outcome.

As part of my ongoing professional development this year, I am wanting to better understanding how as a teacher I can embrace a growth mindset personally but also for my students to be able to learn and improve from failures.  I have found that a growth mindset always see the positive in any learning outcomes whereas a fixed mindset is limited to only what you believe or already know.  This is also one of the major challenges that I have faced throughout my teaching so far.

The video clips below shows some examples of how a growth mindset can be used with the view of “the power of belief”.  As a teacher my aim is to challenge my students beliefs (especially in my senior classes) to say when things get tough, believe that they can achieve anything.

Finally, I teach to build relationships / rapport with students, that I would hope to allow learning to happen positively and gives the students the believe that learning is a journey that has no ending.  If as a teacher you dont know your student, it ends up making a difficult journey throughout the year to achieve a positive result.

Till next time

Rossman

