Data and Information is a very powerful tool that can be used in many areas of teaching. I have found that using data visualisation in both my IT and Maths subjects it has allowed me to better explain concepts in a visual matter. David McCandless is a brilliant source for anyone who wants to learn more about Data and Information. Thanks to Jenny Luca – Lucacept for the inspiration to make this post.

Till next time

Rossman.

Lucacept - intercepting the Web

David McCandless is a data journalist and information designer who maintains an excellent website called ‘Information is Beautiful‘.  Here’s his mission statement from the site.

Myself, and the rest of the crack team here at Information is Beautiful, are dedicated to distilling the world’s data, information and knowledge into beautiful, interesting and, above all, useful visualizations, infographics and diagrams.

If you spend even just five minutes on the site you will see that their dedication has paid off. I’ll bet you’ll be there for longer than five minutes too, because the representations of data are compelling. I used the video above in my ‘Language of our Times’ class this afternoon, and my students were blown away by what they saw. They were so impressed with the ability of the visuals to illustrate the textual information displayed at the top of the screen.

At the moment my students are…

View original post 156 more words

